On Tuesday of week 10 we took exam 2 on Chapters 4-11.  On Thursday, class was cancelled, but we were responsible for Chapter 13 on Investment Fundamentals.  Chapter 13 contained information about investing versus speculating and setting investment goals.  It also review time value of money which we covered earlier this semester as well as in other business courses.  One of the topics towards the beginning of Chapter 13 was the different rates of return.  Nominal rate is the rate of return without adjusting for inflation.  The real rate is the inflation adjusted rate of return.  We will continue with Chapter 13 next week.

My article this week is titled "529 Plans: The Ins and Outs of Contributions and Withdrawals" from www.ameriprise.com.  I have children in elementary school and have thought about saving for college but have not been able to afford the expense.  When I graduate, this is one of the financial goals that I have set for myself.  This is why this particular article seemed very relevant to me.  The article stated that most states have contribution limits of $300,000 and up.  It stated that minimum contributions vary by plan.  Also qualified withdrawals are tax free.  After I have a job, 529 plans for my children will be a priority.

529_plans.pdf
File Size: 138 kb
File Type: pdf
Download File




Leave a Reply.